Thinking about old days, family, friends and reminiscing…. Does this count as genealogy-ish?

Maybe it’s the holidays, but here are a couple of song lyrics that strike me as genealogy-ish. “Old Days” is especially for you Baby Boomer-era readers. “Reminiscing” is particularly for our World War II-era readers, but the sentiment works for any age, of course.

As they used to say: “For your dancing and listening pleasure….” Thanks for indulging me.

“Old Days” by Chicago

Old days
Good times I remember
Fun days
Filled with simple pleasures
Drive-in movies
Comic books and blue jeans
Howdy Doody
Baseball cards and birthdays
Take me back
To a world gone away
Memories
Seem like yesterday

Old days
Good times I remember
Gold days
Days I’ll always treasure
Funny faces
Full of love and laughter
Funny places
Summer nights and streetcars
Take me back
To a world gone away
Boyhood memories
Seem like yesterday

Old days – in my mind and in my heart to stay
Old days – darkened dreams of good times gone away
Old days – days of love and feeling fancy free
Old days – days of magic still so close to me
Old days – In my mind and in my heart to stay
Old days – darkened dreams of good times gone away
Old days – days of love and feeling fancy free
Old days – days of magic still so close to me.

 

“Reminiscing” by Little River Band

Friday night it was late, I was walking you home
We got down to the gate and I was dreaming of the night
Would it turn out right?
How to tell you girl, I want to build my world around you
Tell you that it’s true
I wanna make you understand
I’m talkin’ about a lifetime plan

That’s the way it began, we were hand in hand
Glen Miller’s band was better than before
We yelled and screamed for more
And the Porter’s tunes (night and day) made us dance across the room
It ended all too soon
On the way back home I promised you’d never be alone

Hurry, don’t be late
I can hardly wait
I said to myself when we’re old
We’ll go dancing in the dark
Walking through the park
And reminiscing

Friday night it was late, I was walking you home
We got down to the gate and I was dreaming of the night
Would it turn out right?
Now as the years roll on
Each time we hear our favorite song
The memories come along
Older times we’re missing
Spending the hours reminiscing

Hurry, don’t be late
I can hardly wait
I said to myself when we’re old
We’ll go dancing in the dark
Walking through the park
And reminiscing.

 

Leave a Reply

